History of Medical Marijuana in Georgia
Georgia passed Haleigh’s Hope Act into law on April 16, 2015, and allowed for a limited amount of medical marijuana use for low-THC cannabidiol (CBD) for qualifying patients in Georgia.
Production and dispensing of CBD is currently not allowed.
State Rep. Allen Peake, introduced a bill in 2016 that would have allowed for the growing and selling of medical marijuana in the state of Georgia, though it was not successful.
In 2017, Senate Bill 16 expanded the use list. SB 16 does not address how patients should obtain medical marijuana or provide any state system to dispense it.
In January 2018, Senate Bill 614 entered the State Senate seeking to decriminalize marijuana for medical and recreational use within state lines. The Joint Study Commission of Access to Low-THC Medical Oil held public meetings during August – October 2018 to improve access to cannabis oil that is currently legal for certain qualifying patients.
The commission submitted a final report and recommendations for establishing a state-regulating dispensing system to improve patient access to the low THC medical cannabis oil. The report proposes to allow 10 grow licenses, 10 manufacturing licenses and an “adequate number” of dispensing licenses.
House Bill 324 was signed into law by Governor Brian Kemp on April 17, 2019 to provide patients who were already allowed to possess low THC high CBD marijuana oil legal access. The new law provides a framework for a state-regulated dispensing system of licensed marijuana producers.
Government officials appointed members to the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission on November 12, 2019. The formation of the commission will now allow for the drafting of regulations to license, establish and regulate medical marijuana businesses. regulated by the Department of Public Health.
Georgia (Medical) Cannabis Applications
Class 1 Production License
Opened November 23, 2020 to Deadline: December 28, 2020 – moved to January 2021
Class 2 Production License
Opened November 23, 2020 Deadline: December 28, 2020 – moved to January 2021
Application Fees/Start up costs
Class 1 Production License requires a non-refundable application fee of $25,000, an initial license fee of $200,000 and license renewal fee of $100,000.
Class 2 Production License requires a non-refundable application fee of $5,000, an initial license fee of $100,000 and license renewal fee of $50,000.
Types of Available Cannabis Licenses in Georgia
Class 1 Producer License
A Class 1 Production License allows:
- Grow cannabis only in indoor facilities for use in producing low THC oil, limited to 100,000 square feet of cultivation space
- Manufacture low THC oil
There will be 2 Class 1 production licenses available.
Class 2 Producer License
A Class 2 Production License allows
- Grow cannabis only in indoor facilities for use in producing low THC oil, limited to 50,000 square feet of cultivation space
- Manufacture low THC oil
There will be 4 Class 2 production licenses.
Marijuana Dispensing License in Georgia
The State Board of Pharmacy will develop an annual, nontransferable specialty dispensing license for a pharmacy to dispense low THC oil to registered patients.
Additionally, the commission will develop an annual, nontransferable dispensing license for retail outlets to dispense low THC oil to registered patients.
The amount of licenses available, application fee, license fee, and license renewal fees are unknown at this time.
Currently, there is an open application process for Medical Marijuana Business Licenses in Georgia. Now is the time to get started with your business plan. You can provide your information here to receive notification updates related to Georgia cannabis matters. You can schedule a time for a consultation at here.