Nevada Marijuana Business Licenses

Medical Marijuana in Nevada

In 1998, the Nevada Medical Marijuana Act was approved, making the state one of the first to legalize medical cannabis. In 2000, voters approved this a second time, which officially amended the state constitution. Nevada residents diagnosed with one of the approved conditions and had a physician’s recommendation were legally allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable cannabis. Although Nevada passed the legislation, the Medical Marijuana Act did not include any regulation that addressed how approved patients would legally obtain their medical cannabis. It was not until 2013 that Nevada passed legislation that would allow medical cannabis dispensaries, in addition to increasing cultivation and possession limits.

As of July 1, 2020, the medical cannabis program is administered by the Cannabis Compliance Board. The Nevada Medical Cannabis Program is governed by Title 56 Nevada Revised Statutes 678A‐678C and Nevada Administrative Code 453A.

Recreational Marijuana in Nevada

On November 8, 2016, Nevada voters passed the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act. This made Nevada, along with California, Maine, and Massachusetts one of the first states to legalize recreational marijuana. The Act legalized the purchase, possession, and consumption of adult-use cannabis for adults 21 and older. Adults 21 years and older can legally possess cannabis in the following amounts:

  • Up to 1 ounce of cannabis
  • Up to 1/8 of an ounce of concentrated cannabis (the separated resin, whether crude or purified, obtained from cannabis)

Further, adults may grow cannabis if they live at least twenty-five (25) miles away from the nearest dispensary. Such qualified adults may grow up to six (6) plants per person, with no more than twelve (12) plants per household.

By 2021, the Nevada Legislature AB341 in the 81st Session of the Nevada State Legislature authorized the Nevada Cannabis Compliance Board (CCB) to license and regulate cannabis consumption lounges. Two types of consumption lounges are allowed — one associated with existing cannabis retailers, and the other standalone. CCB issued twenty (20) licenses in late 2022 for retail cannabis consumption lounges to dispensary owners who will operate lounges attached to or adjacent to their establishments. In a November 2022 lottery process, the CCB issued forty (40) licenses, twenty (20) for standalone consumption lounges and twenty (20) for existing retail licenses, half of which were social equity applicants.

Types of Recreational Cannabis Business Licenses in Nevada

  • Cultivation Facility
  • Product Manufacturing Facility
  • Retail Store
  • Distributor
  • Testing Facility/Laboratory
  • Cannabis Consumption Lounges

Upcoming Applications for Nevada Cannabis Business Licenses

Currently, the CCB is accepting applications for a cultivation and a production facility for White Pine County – there is only one license each available. The application period opens July 15th, 2024 and closes July 26, 2024 at 5 PM.

For future opportunities, the Department will issue a 45-day notice prior to the opening of an application period and simultaneously provide the application guide at the time of notification. Now is the time to work with a Team of experts to be a step ahead once the CCB announces a new application round. Contact us today to discuss your options!

Contact a Nevada Marijuana Business License Consultant

If you are interested in entering Nevada’s lucrative adult-use marijuana market, contact our Team of Cannabis business license consultants today to discuss your options!

Last Updated: June 12th, 2024

Want to Chat More?

Schedule an Appointment

Schedule Today

Please select a day and time that's convenient for you.

We Look Forward to Meeting You

Schedule Now

Also Serving: U.S. Virgin Islands

Map Key: Recreational Medical Only Restrictive Illegal

Available Now

Cannabis Business Licensing

Contact Us

Schedule an appointment to discuss how we can help you enter the Cannabis industry.